How does the AT ATH-A900 compare to the Senn HD 280 Pro?
May 28, 2007 at 3:19 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

Mike112

New Head-Fier
I just recently picked up the 280s, which are my first headphones that aren't cheapies that come with a CD player.
tongue.gif

I'm very happy with them, but I'm wondering how these two headphones compare, as the ATH-A900 was another that caught my eye while doing a bit of research. The price was a little high for me, but if they are really worth it, I may consider getting them some time in the future.

So, to people who have tried or owned both: Do you think it would be worth owning the ATH-A900 if I already have the 280s? What are the major differences in the way that they sound? Is the A900 a significantly large upgrade over the 280 like the price suggests?

Sorry if any of these are obvious questions. I'm still new to this, but I'm learning.
280smile.gif

May 28, 2007 at 3:39 PM Post #2 of 10
i have the little brother of the a900

the biggest difference is the way they fit. my a700 are more comfortable, but offer very little isolation

sonically, the a700 is more bass heavy, more of a fun can

May 28, 2007 at 4:34 PM Post #3 of 10
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mike112 /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Do you think it would be worth owning the ATH-A900 if I already have the 280s?

Absolutely. I had the HD280 for a long time and eventually sold them. I picked up the A900 shortly thereafter. The A900, to my ears, are better in just about every way. For me, the HD280 did only two things better: it isolates much more and the bass extends lower than than the A900. Other than that, I feel the A900 is vastly superior in every way.

May 28, 2007 at 9:45 PM Post #4 of 10