How do you determine whether a recording is "well-recorded?"
Apr 6, 2017 at 12:48 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

Feilong4

Headphoneus Supremus
What are some examples of well-recorded songs/albums and some that aren't?

It would be great if I could get some non-classical/jazz examples. Nothing wrong with them, but I guess it seems too easy.

Apr 7, 2017 at 9:05 AM Post #3 of 7
How to determine ? Listen I'd say 
tongue.gif
 I am not a professionnal and all I'll say is completely subjective.

Well recorded tracks are usually making good use of stereo and depth, with instruments coming from different locations, hairy sound, wide stage, immersive bass, energic sound.

You can notice on "bad" records that certain instruments have a sizzling, or that the white noise is excessive on their specific track. Instruments can also be not well separated and cover each other, or that an insuficient number of microphones were used (noticeable on classic).

hdtracks has a category "audiophile tracks to die for", I listened to a few and ideed they are to die for http://www.hdtracks.com/critics-album-picks/stereophile
Anything recorded by Chesky is amazing, but they do Jazz.

I have exemples on hard rock :
- yum recorded : "Radiohead - Creep" or "Foo Fighters - Everlong" - you can listen to each electric guitar and their ensemble is really moving, battery and voice are still present and detailled enough."Sublime - Same in the end" despite limited obvious use of stereo outside of the electric guitar the whole thing is super energic and you can picture the depth of the scene with the guitar/bass in front of you with the singer just behind with the battery keeping everyone on track.