how can i use a headphone with DVD963SA?
Feb 25, 2003 at 5:00 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 16

F15h

New Head-Fier
dear all, i am a newbie here...so comes a stupid question
smily_headphones1.gif
I would appreciate your answer very much. I have read the spces, and seems it has a Audio L+R output and a digital output. how can i connect my headphone (sr-60s) to each of the two interfaces? which one is better? Thanks in advance

Feb 25, 2003 at 5:11 AM Post #2 of 16
an amplifier of some sort with a headphone jack, or a reciever would be what your looking for. If your going to be driving SR 60s and your piecing together a system anyway, try and look for a preamp/int amp/reciever with a headphone jack, as a dedicated headamp might be very beneficial with those particular phones.

Enjoy the source, I'm getting one next week

smily_headphones1.gif

Feb 25, 2003 at 6:08 AM Post #3 of 16
thank gopher. i have some idea about headphone amp, but i am not aware of preamp/int amp/reciever. would you please elaborate these thing a little bit, for example, basic explaination of their machanism. I don't want to bother you too much providing me with a list of available products I can directly jump to. Best if I can first get some idea, know basics about them, restrict my searching scope, then it is time for me to turn to you audiophile to seek valuable suggestion :p

Feb 25, 2003 at 6:13 AM Post #4 of 16
f15h:

It will be best to use the left and right output from the multi channel (5.1) set of plugs on the back of the 963. Then, of course, into a good or great headphone amp. According to Philips, the Audio L&R outputs are inferior.

Good luck,
Bob

Feb 25, 2003 at 6:35 AM Post #5 of 16
Also be aware of this note from the DVD 963SA Owner's Manual:

"SACD audio is NOT available on the Digital audio output (coaxial or optical) as per the SACD standard."

Feb 25, 2003 at 5:13 PM Post #7 of 16
F15h,

I'll take a stab at explaining preamps, int. amps, and receivers.