Hi, my first post and im already asking questions...
Oct 12, 2011 at 6:34 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

gwobbles

New Head-Fier
First of all hello, I'm new to head-fi!

If this is the wrong section then please feel free to delete, move etc...

So my question is:

First of all I am no audiophile, but lately I am curious of how good sound reproduction can enhance my experiences.
I just wanted to ask if the following combinations will give me good results when gaming. I will be playing FPS games 99% of the time. I read around the internet for a good few days now and have settled with these choices:

1: Sennheiser PC 360 + X-Fi Titanium HD
2: Sennheiser PC 350 + Asus Xonar Sense
3: Razer Carcharias + X-Fi Titanium HD

I am hoping to get them either next week or the week after, I just wanted some approval from the people that know there stuff with gaming audio before I sink my student loan into this lol.

I thank you in advance!

Oct 12, 2011 at 6:48 PM Post #2 of 8
If you don't need a mic, or you're open to the idea of a separate mic, I would get better headphones. The Audio-Technica AD700 is well regarded for affordable competitive gaming, but isn't as good for fun gaming because it lacks bass. The Sennheiser HD558 and HD598 are also good options. Some Fischer Audio headphones are gaining popularity for gaming, like the FA-011.

If you're primarily looking to game, an X-Fi sound card would be a better option than an ASUS card.

Oct 12, 2011 at 6:53 PM Post #3 of 8
Welcome aboard, and as the saying goes, "Sorry about your wallet."

I came here for much the same reason, actually, after discovering how CMSS-3D Headphone on X-Fi cards was not only convincing with the right headphones, but bordered on being an aural wallhack in the right games. (I don't have a Titanium HD, but the Auzentech-built Prelude and Forte instead. All three are viable choices.)