HELP!!! WS99/MDR-1R/Crossfade LP (Im a newb!)
Jun 11, 2013 at 1:59 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 33

Ncapolupo

New Head-Fier
ok, im one of them folks who has spent many hours and dollars fiddlefarting with my home audio system. Then i realized, i walk about 25 miles a week, while listening to my ipod.. So its time to ditch my $15 sony earbuds for some real sound.. Ive read and read and read like i always do before making a blind internet purchase, and now ive read myself into an indecisive hole!  Seems like i was curious about the Denon 1100's or whatever, until i heard they break easily.

I like LOUD LOUD LOUD, and some really solid bass. of course i want overall sounds quality. Im thinking i wanted to try closed ear as i usualy use these cheap earbuds..

I dont have alot of time to elaborate, but which of the above mentioned cans do i need? Keep me at $300 or less if you can. and do i need an amp??? THANKS FOR THE HELP!@!

Jun 11, 2013 at 2:45 PM Post #2 of 33
Man your just asking for the ws99! Ive heard the lp and it doesn't touch either. The 1r I'd good, but not as good as the ws99, which has veeeery solid bass, nice mids.

Jun 11, 2013 at 3:01 PM Post #3 of 33
i just recently read that those have 53mm drivers, and you wont fully enjoy the loudness and deep bass without an amp.. is this true? I mean, i am one of those people that listens on full volume on my ipod touch, and with these earbuds, its not even as loud as i like.. these are only 250 for the cans, should i spend 50 on an amp? will that pheonix fire thingy do the trick? or what should i get? Ill be dissappointed if  it isnt really loud for me when i spend this much on something i normally spend only $20 on.

thanks for the advice man.

Jun 11, 2013 at 3:06 PM Post #4 of 33