Help with Plenue R. Please help!
Jan 5, 2019 at 12:46 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 4

Fessy

100+ Head-Fier
Hi,

So basically I'm going to get the Plenue R soon and I want to know the following, as I am not that technical, so bare with me please:

1) Apart from the Plenue L being the latest Plenue, does anyone have any information if there will be any more Plenue's coming out soon that I could wait for?

2) How does the "unbalanced" work on the Plenue R? Is it better than "balanced"? Can you tell the difference and is there a lot of difference between the two?

3) What's the best, decent priced cable I would need to use for "unbalanced"? (Assuming it's better than "balanced" and quite noticeable). I will be using my Fiio A5 amp with the Plenue R, if that helps.

4) This question goes with #3: Is there another good amp like the Fiio A5, decent priced but with at least 20-30hours minimum battery life?

I hope someone can help me ASAP, as I want to get the PR or wait for another 1, if there is another 1 in the works, soon.

Thanks in advance

Jan 5, 2019 at 3:53 AM Post #2 of 4
Hi @Fessy,

Since I have the Plenue R, I hope I can answer your questions.

1) Apart from the Plenue L being the latest Plenue, does anyone have any information if there will be any more Plenue's coming out soon that I could wait for?

The best thing you can do is ask Cowon or an authorised distributor.

2) How does the "unbalanced" work on the Plenue R?

Unbalanced works on the Plenue R as it does every other device without balanced connection, as long as your headphone/IEM cable has standard 2 pole (two rings) on the 3.5 mm jack, it should be able to carry 'standard' audio signal & work fine.
That is, as long as you plug in the 3.5 mm jack to Plenue R & the connectors on cable are plugged in to IEM/headphone.

Is it better than "balanced"?

Better is a relative term, if you mean does it sound like any other unbalanced connection, then yes & no.