Help Recommend My Next Headphone Amp!
Sep 15, 2015 at 10:56 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

rwpritchett

100+ Head-Fier
Hello all,

The quality of my headphones has outpaced the quality of my amps and its time for an upgrade. I'm relatively new to the hobby and started with some low level amps. Currently, the main amp I use is the 1st gen Aune T1. My climb up the headphone ladder has left me with the following headphones in my current stable: HiFiMan HE-500, AKG K702-65/AE, AKG K550, Focal Spirit Classic, Yuin PK1, and some others that don't really benefit from amping.

From what I've read, two of those headphones (the HE-500 and K702-65/AE) sound their best with an amp that puts out a lot of current and I think it's time to upgrade the underpowered Aune T1 MK1 which is also used as a DAC for my powered speakers and sub. For budget, I'd like to keep it under $400 unless forum advice leads me to save up more to get what I'm looking for. I listen mostly to FLAC files from the following genres: classic rock, modern rock, blues, acoustic, vocal jazz, classical. I tend to prefer v-shaped sound and I love realistic soundstage.

Must Haves:
  • RCA pre-outs for my powered speakers
  • 6.35mm (1/4") jack
  • USB, TOSLINK, or Coax input
  • Small desktop footprint
  • I prefer a DAC/Amp combo due to the size advantage, but open to separate components if stackable or small enough footprint
  • For the DAC, I would like minimum 192KHz sample rate

Like-to-Haves:
  • Variable pre-out instead of fixed
  • Support for 88.2KHz sample rate
  • Future upgrade possibilities (i.e. XLR balanced out, DSD support)
  • Low output impedance for my easy to drive cans
  • Adjustable gain

In my research, I've come across the following candidates:
  • Audio-GD NFB-15.32
  • Matrix M-Stage HPA-2
  • Schiit Magni/Modi Uber Stack, fully upgraded
  • A make/model I've overlooked?