Help me hear the difference (compressed vs raw)
Feb 14, 2005 at 1:28 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 27

Alexhifi

100+ Head-Fier
Hey everyone...I'm just getting into all of this and am trying to "train" my ears. I spent about 30 minutes trying to hear the difference between some music directly played from a CD and the same music APE encoded on my Iriver i799. I'm using no amp with the mp3 player, so maximum volume is not even close to loud but I can say confidently, it is not distorting the music. I'm using Senn 590s (not broken in) /w the stock cables. The CD player and home stereo I used isn't hi-fi by any means, but it isn't junk - Harmon Kardon FL8300 5-disc player and an original Harmon Kardon AVR20.

I tried my best and I simply could not hear the difference. I was sure the volumes were close so as not to fall for the "louder makes it sound better" syndrome. I'm not certain if my source CD is that good either - it's the soundtrack to The Fifth Element. I really like the music and it gets very complicated in quite a number of tracks. From what I can tell, the headphones are muddying up complex parts of the song that have constant bass tones in them. But then again, maybe it just wasn't recorded that well? Maybe the 590s need more burn-in time? Maybe I'm crazy?
smily_headphones1.gif

Anyway, trying to keep this short. Could someone put up perfectly ripped WAV files of music pulled from a CD that is considered very well recorded/mastered? Genre is not important. I'm looking for music that I can use to compare raw WAV vs APE MP3. ANY and ALL advice appreciated. I really am trying to learn here!

If you need space to put the files, please PM me and I'll get you a login to a high speed FTP site with plenty of space.

-Alex

Feb 14, 2005 at 2:01 AM Post #2 of 27