Help me choose a sound card
Feb 15, 2011 at 6:39 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 16

BackwardPawn

100+ Head-Fier
Hi all,

I'm new to head-fi and need some advice picking a sound card.  I just purchased a Xonar DX, but one channel has started cutting out, so I need to exchange it.  I'm trying to decide what I should replace it with, though.  Given that I only have HD555s, will I hear $150 worth of difference in a Xonar ST over the Xonar DX.  I think the HF setting on the DX sounds better than any creative card I've used,  and I hear the ST is amazing, but I realize these are entry level headphones and I don't want to waste money if they can't pick up the difference between the two cards.

Thanks for your help.

BackwardPawn

Feb 15, 2011 at 8:10 PM Post #2 of 16
I prefer Auzentech forte,or the bravura...

Feb 15, 2011 at 8:43 PM Post #3 of 16
I know it would have better EAX support than Asus, but how does the CMSS-3d sound on the Forte?  On my old Audigy 2, I was never real happy with the CMSS in either games or movies.  I've been pretty pleased with the Dolby headphone, though.  Has the CMSS-3d gotten better with the X-Fi?

Feb 15, 2011 at 10:00 PM Post #4 of 16
So...I've been thinking about this, and I really want the ST.  But being new to headphones and having had jaw problems, I really don't want to fork over $200 and find I can't use it.  I think I'll probably go with the $60 option for six months or so and then hook it up to my HTPC.  Or maybe just drop back to the Audigy and get used to the headphones.  And then when I know I won't have any issues with the cans, I'll upgrade.

On that note, though, whats the best way to loosen up the HD555s.  I read somewhere to put them over a tower case overnight.

Feb 16, 2011 at 9:32 AM Post #5 of 16
http://cgi.ebay.com/ONKYO-SE-90PCI-SN-110dB-24bit-192kHz-PCI-Sound-Card-PC-/150509245881?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item230b0cd5b9
try this....