[help] Locating stores and equipment
Feb 26, 2005 at 11:46 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

dewy

New Head-Fier
Hi, I have decided i'd like to have a go at some DIY jobs but I live in Australia and am finding it hard tolocate equipment need for cables, I was to make a mini-mini for my headphone amp (see below) and a rca-mini (They always seem to come in handy. Also, I am new to the diy scene, and even newer to the audio scene, What I am after is a rather cheap but descent beginners amp to make but I don't know where to start, can you buy premade pcbs? or can you use the Pegboard like pcb you can get at DSE/Jaycar that has the strips (if so how do you use them). I have minimal soldering/general electronics skills. Not sure if any aussies are members here but it is worth a try
eggosmile.gif

Feb 26, 2005 at 11:54 AM Post #2 of 6
for connectors and cable. go to your local music/pa store and you'll be able to find all you want
smily_headphones1.gif

pcb's i order from the states, but DSE does have the perfboard to build the cmoy.

parts, hardware, consumables, etc: altronics, jaycar, RS, farnell.

between those four, there isn't a huge deal that you can't get your hands on. its moreso the boutique stuff thats a bit harder to track down. i love RS and altronics though, my two main sources
smily_headphones1.gif

Feb 26, 2005 at 12:17 PM Post #3 of 6
Quote:

Originally Posted by skyskraper
for connectors and cable. go to your local music/pa store and you'll be able to find all you want
smily_headphones1.gif

pcb's i order from the states, but DSE does have the perfboard to build the cmoy.

parts, hardware, consumables, etc: altronics, jaycar, RS, farnell.

between those four, there isn't a huge deal that you can't get your hands on. its moreso the boutique stuff thats a bit harder to track down. i love RS and altronics though, my two main sources
smily_headphones1.gif

Thanks

Feb 27, 2005 at 2:24 AM Post #5 of 6