Help for first time diy project (dac-ah)
Aug 20, 2006 at 5:32 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

izquierdaste

100+ Head-Fier
Hello,

Since this is my first attempt at diy, I have some really stupid questions. I have read some of the other threads in here, but I just want to make sure that I don't screw anything up. I decided to go ahead and get some 12uf paper in oil caps to try as coupling caps for my dac-ah. (Note, I want to keep using the opamps for now.) Here are some pictures to help with the story:

http://www.unc.edu/~bmaskery/Existing_caps.htm

1. when I take out the old capacitors, I assume that I solder the underside of the board to dislodge the caps (as opposed to just soldering from the top side).

2. Since the paper in oil caps are much bigger, I will need to place the caps near the power supply. So... can I just use shielded wire to connect the caps back to the board at the holes from the previously removed caps. If so, does the type of connecting wire matter (i.e. silver vs. regular).

3. My caps have two "wires" one extending form the top and one from the bottom. How should I attach the connecting wire to the ends of the cap. Should I just twist the wires around the caps' top and bottom extensions or should I solder the shielded wire to the caps? Also, what should I put around the connection?

4. Do I need to add a resister when I install the new caps or is the existing setup ok?

5. What is the best may to connect the caps to the case so they don't move around too much. I was thinking that poster tac may be sufficient.

Thanks a lot for any help with my first diy project.

Cheers,
Brian

Aug 20, 2006 at 6:46 PM Post #2 of 9