Help for choosing a DAC - Schiit NAD or Cambridge Audio
Mar 28, 2015 at 5:24 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

pldelisle

Head-Fier
Hi all! I just discovered this very nice forum and I wanted to ask my few questions as I'm quite a noob in computer audio compared to a lot of people I read here !

So first, here is my situation.

I already own an Asus Sonar Essence STX board ( http://www.asus.com/ca-en/Essence_HiFi_Audio/Xonar_Essence_STX/ ). In the past, I though it was a nice board. In fact, it was, but the more I read posts on this forum, the more I think this board is nothing at all !

Well, it served me quite good for the past 3 years. I enjoy listening music. But the fact is, I'm only an engineering student with not that much to spend on equipment, but that loves good quality products and doesn't hesitate to spend a few more to really get the best bang for the buck.

So, as I said, the Asus board served me well, but the computer it actually sits in is being transformed into a server (I'm avoiding useless details here, I'm also an IT guy). So I have to sell it.

Since this computer will never be able to output any sound anymore, I'm looking for a good DAC to plug in my MacBook Pro Late-2013.

My other sound equipment is : 

Sennheiser Momentum headphones : http://en-us.sennheiser.com/over-ear-headphone-momentum-stereo . I love them. It let me listen to music on the go with my iPhone while still push an incredible sound when connected to my current DAC.

Onkyo TX-8255 amplifier : http://www.onkyo.ca/Products/model.php?m=TX-8255&class=Receiver . It feels nothing compared to some people's amp here, but does the job for now. But for 350 $, it was a nice buy back in the days. Still, I know I'm far away from "real rig"...

Polk Audio Monitor 30 Speakers. Again, I though I had good speakers before reading this forum ... ! Still, it does the job and I like them for 250 $ speakers. 

What I mainly listen to :