HELP! DIY UE Cable
May 5, 2011 at 8:27 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 17

Foress

100+ Head-Fier
Hi Head-Fiers!

I'm new to the DIY scene. Please pardon my noob questions.
I'm trying to make a wire for my reshelled TF10.

The current wire I'm using is a UE11 wire. I thought all UE pins connect the same, but somehow my UE11 pins fit nicely into my IEM, but my TF10 wire's kind of loose.
Any idea what kind of pins I should buy?

Also, I'll be soldering to a Neutrik NTP3RC-B plug. I see that there are 3 places for me to connect the plug to the wire; the top, and the left and right. 

If I want to do a silver/copper hybrid, won't there be only 2 strands for me to connect?
Also, there are many braiding methods. Any idea which is the most suitable?
Any idea what kind of pins I should buy?

I appreciate your answering of my questions and reading this!

May 6, 2011 at 4:33 PM Post #3 of 17
Can't answer the first question, but you should end up with 4 strands. Each channel has a ground you both connect to the ground on the plug.
Litz braid is usually very common.

May 7, 2011 at 4:04 AM Post #4 of 17

Quote:
Can't answer the first question, but you should end up with 4 strands. Each channel has a ground you both connect to the ground on the plug.
Litz braid is usually very common.

Thanks for your help!
On the instructions on soldering, there are only 3 channels for me to connect to the plug. Any ideas where the 4th strand should be connected to?

May 7, 2011 at 4:09 AM Post #5 of 17

Quote:
Thanks for your help!
On the instructions on soldering, there are only 3 channels for me to connect to the plug. Any ideas where the 4th strand should be connected to?

Ground-right into one earphone, ground-left into the other earphone. Left to tip, Right to ring and ground-ground to sleeve. Also, where do you happen to get your pins from? And silver/copper wires flexible enough to turn into IEM cables? O.o

May 7, 2011 at 4:49 AM Post #6 of 17