Hello - New to Audio
Apr 17, 2013 at 1:06 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 3

Moop

New Head-Fier
Hey guys, I'm new to the audio world. I was wondering if anyone had some books or threads that have a comprehensive guide to starting out. Something along the lines of setting up a sound system and all the components to one. I've looked around the forum and found various things that have helped but there's not much cohesion and some questions I haven't found the answer to.

Some questions I still have:

Why is USB connection bad for listening to high quality sound?

A lot of people use the E9K + E17. Why is this? I thought the E17 was a DAC and Amplifier combo, so why pair it with the E9K amp?

What is the purpose of an amplifier? I thought that just makes the sound higher.

Sound Cards are better than DACs for games because of the 3D simulations, but do DACs still improve the sounds of a game? (For example, will previously unheard sounds become heard?)

What is a good DAC for portablility purposes to use on a Laptop / Desktop for games and music and how can you tell?

Are earbuds good for listening to sound or do they lack something significant compared to headphones?

Thanks.

Apr 17, 2013 at 1:48 AM Post #2 of 3
popcorn.gif

Apr 17, 2013 at 3:29 AM Post #3 of 3
Quote:
Hey guys, I'm new to the audio world. I was wondering if anyone had some books or threads that have a comprehensive guide to starting out. Something along the lines of setting up a sound system and all the components to one. I've looked around the forum and found various things that have helped but there's not much cohesion and some questions I haven't found the answer to.

Some questions I still have:

Why is USB connection bad for listening to high quality sound?

A lot of people use the E9K + E17. Why is this? I thought the E17 was a DAC and Amplifier combo, so why pair it with the E9K amp?

What is the purpose of an amplifier? I thought that just makes the sound higher.