Hello everyone... Newbie here! setup/turntable question
Mar 14, 2010 at 10:31 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 3

UteroiD

New Head-Fier
First off, I just wanted to say hi to everyone, this is a great site, I've been reading this forum for sometime now, and definitely got some great info! I'm slowly starting to get a hang of the hi fi audio world. Currently I listen to music on my computer through a M-Audio Firewire card, to which i have hooked up M-Audio studiophile bx5a deluxe, and Logitech z-2200, i find that the 2200s complete the overall sound that the monitors lack.

I was wondering if anyone out there has also combined monitors with computer speakers? Also, do you think it's possible or worth buying a turntable and running it through M-Audio?

Anyway, again, great site and thank you in advance.

Mar 15, 2010 at 2:02 AM Post #2 of 3
Carful with turntables as in many cases they will require a RIAA preamp to boost the level to work within the normal line-level spec that other consumer gear operates on. Gear such as CD players, Audio I/O between video players, even older cassette decks.
Some turntables will have a preamp built in and others will need an external ine between the table and the card. You can hook them up easily enough, just watch out for this situation.

Mar 16, 2010 at 5:18 AM Post #3 of 3
Are you using the sub from the Z-2200 with the BX5a monitors? Or are you using the Z-2200 2.1 sub and satellites on their own and the BX5a monitors on their own?

Turntables are tricky because some include the RIAA phono preamp internally and output a regular line level signal. Lower end consumer turntables do that and some DJ turntables. Most turntables though will need a separate RIAA phono preamp to equalize the signal and get the signal up to regular line level level.

The current DJ turntable craze means there's a good selection of phono preamps available running for relatively cheap (under $30) to crazy expensive (lots of $$$).