heaphones recommendation for Gaming, Classic/Hard rock, some metal
Sep 9, 2013 at 3:03 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 5

uziyourillusion

New Head-Fier
Hey everyone,

I'm new to the audiophile scene and looking to get a great pair of phones for heavy gaming(BF3/4, CS:GO, War Thunder). The headphones will also be used for music ranging from some classical music all the way to nothing heavier than Metallica, Mostly focusing on classic and hard rock. Think Guns N` Roses, Sabbath, Zeppelin, Pink Floyd...that sorta thing. It's difficult for me to describe the sound I want as I've never had a great pair of headphones, but if I had to guess I would prefer a smoother sound overall to reduce fatigue but with plenty of bass on hand for gaming. I dont need a lot, however.

I've used a few Sennheiser in the past, like the 280pro, and enjoyed them, so I have a preference to Sennheiser. But, I'll consider all options :).

I've been looking specifically from the HD 598, HD 600, and HD 650. I realize thats sorta a wide gab, but I'm willing to spend up to the HD 650 if it gives a significant upgrade from the HD 598. I've actually read a few people preferring the HD 598 which is why I'm considering it as well.

I only have on-board audio so I'm also going to need recommendations on either a soundcard or a DAC/Amp. I'm not familiar with either of these. The Asus Xonar STX seems to be what I'm looking for, however. The 1/4 input would also allow me to record guitar tracks? That's a huge plus for me.

Here are my PC specs if that's at all relevant:

I7 920@4.2ghz
6GB DDR3 PC 1600
EVGA 3-way SLI X58
2x GTX 760 in SLI
WD Black Caviar 2TB
Corsair TX 750wPSU
CM HAF-922 case

Anyway, much appreciation in advance, can't wait to hear what you guys recommend! :)

Sep 9, 2013 at 5:03 AM Post #2 of 5
Hello!