Headroom Total Airhead
Apr 6, 2011 at 7:27 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

MilesDavis2

100+ Head-Fier
My first portable amp and I am very impressed with the difference.  Using a DT770 32, Grado SR80, and Senn PX200.  I am not an audiophile as I am not fluent with specs.  Just use my ear to gauge. As a kid, enjoyed my father's sound system. He is a tube guy.
I am sure that there will be better amps out there costing $500.00 or more.  When I am ready for that move, which would you suggest in terms of portable amps.  I have narrowed it down to the Qube V2 and The Pico slim.  I prefer made in the USA products.  If you would have other suggestions, pls. do so.  I listen to coltrane, Miles and the likes of Return to forever. Thank you.  I am also new to HeadFi and enjoying and educating myself.  Thank you.

Apr 6, 2011 at 7:43 PM Post #2 of 10
If Your going to spend that much on a portable You should check out the Triad Audio Lisa III, USA made, about the same as the Qube and much better. The Pico is nice also. To spend that much are You going to upgrade Your phone's too. You should check out 1 thread by SkyLab called 56 portable amp round up if I remember right. Do Your research and ask question's You could do better in price range amp wise. Also look under the for sale/trade thread to see what someone is selling used. Another option! Just be Patient, I'm sure Your Dad has told You this.

Apr 7, 2011 at 11:45 PM Post #3 of 10
Thank you. I will give that a check.

Apr 8, 2011 at 11:56 AM Post #4 of 10
If Your just looking for portability You could also check out the PA2V2 amp, You'll find it on EBAY and the other would be the Fiio E5. Start small to get a taste then work Your way up to a better amp and phone's. Key is to take Your time and do Your research and enjoy. Tell Your Dad about DecWare amp's if He does'nt already know, I think He'd check it out. 
L3000.gif

Apr 8, 2011 at 2:28 PM Post #5 of 10