Headphones for aspiring audio designer?
Nov 22, 2013 at 11:07 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

jontasson

New Head-Fier
Hi! I need some guidance on what pair of headphones to buy (price: around $230). I'm very new to all of this so it's hard to know what's the best choice for me and my needs.

I've recently started to study Audio design (video games, movies etc) at the uni and I need something I can use in the studio while recording different sound effects and voice-over, something I can use when mixing those recordings but also when mixing/creating music. It would be great if I could use the headphones while out in the field when doing outdoor foley recordings as well.

I also listen to a lot of music on my free time so having a pair of headphones that can really bring out the best in the sound when listening to records or when sitting at my laptop is very important. I like most music, folk, indierock, hiphop is most common when I get to choose myself but I listen equally as much to different genres for reference listening during assignments in school.

A lot of the people in school recommend buying Sennheisers but I find the pads to small and narrow for my ears. I've tried a pair of ATH m50 as well and compared to sennheisers I like them way better but I want to know more about what's out there before making a decision. I've read on the forums that a lot of people seem to like Beyers D770 (dt990 also seems popular) but I'm not sure what's the better choice for me, mostly since I'm not exactly sure what to look for. (I don't have an amp connected to my personal laptop, will I be able to use phones like dt990 anyway?)

Hope you people will be able to give me some clearence in the matter.

Bless

Nov 22, 2013 at 11:17 PM Post #2 of 7
Hiya, welcome to headfi. sorry about your wallet.
For sound mixing, neutral sounding phones like K240 are normally used.

I guess that you are looking for closed design headphones, since you said that you would use these phones in school.