Headphone output quality from a full-sized receiver?
Mar 5, 2002 at 1:47 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

sTaTIx

100+ Head-Fier
Hi, I'm a newbie and I'm thinking of buying a dedicated headphone amp, but I'm a bit hesitant to do so because I have a few questions that I need addressed. Forgive me if I sound stupid in the process.

From what I've been reading on this forum, I've come to the conclusion that the headphone jacks from most full-sized receivers sound like crap, and if you want to hear the full potential of your headphones, you need a headphone amp. The uniqueness of my situation, though, is that I own a pair of vintage headphones that run through speaker terminals. My question is whether or not the same rule of a home component's headphone output sucking applies here, since I don't use the headphone jack at all. I've been running these 'phones through the secondary set of speaker terminals at the back of my Pioneer VSX-D9O8S home-theatre receiver, and it sounds great, although that may just be my naivety speaking.

Mar 5, 2002 at 3:00 AM Post #2 of 12
Stax SR-44 or -34, right? I could look at your profile, but that's cheating, and I think that's what it sounds like you have.

Search for them on the forums and you'll find some info. Right now they're limited, IMO, by that box they plug into and the cabling in it. The mids are very good, the highs a bit much, and the bass is not all that great. They sit on your ears, and I remember hot sweaty ears that hurt after a while. And eventually the highs are fatiguing, even with analog sources and a good power amp.

I had them 15 years ago.

Mar 5, 2002 at 1:44 PM Post #4 of 12