Headphone Amp w/ Bass Boost for ES7s
Jan 23, 2008 at 8:41 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 20

GCTonyHawk7

Head-Fier
Hey guys. First post here. Will start by mentioning I am new to this whole high-end audio thing. I got some Z-5500 logitech speakers, and love them. They put my little Sony MDR-V300 headphones to shame. I decided to buy some newer better ones.

I got a pair of Audio-Technica ES7s after looking around on here. I love their size, price, and comfort. Although, I find two things wrong with them.

CIMG8143.JPG

The first problem is really not with the headphones, but more with the conversion between speakers and headphones. I have some Logitech Z-5500 speakers, and use the headphone port on them to drive my headphones. Because of the big loud speakers, and the small not so loud headphones, there has to be HUGE volume adjustment when switching between them. I will have the on-computer volume at around half, and the Z5500 volume at about 1/4, plug in headphones and have to basically boost both all the way to full. This is not a huge deal, but something that wastes time, and is sure to cause an accidental REALLY loud speakers blast late at night or something. Sure, it is possible to plug the headphones into their own output on the back of the computer, but the speakers are hooked up over Optical. My soundcard is not able to play audio on both the Optical out and an analog output at the same time.

The second issue, is the bass. I happen to love bass, and apparently a very large amount of it. You could even call me a bass-head. These headphones have it, and are very capable. But I still feel it is lacking when plugged into my Z5500s. I've got some very old Labtec speakers that have a bass/treble knob on them. While it is killing the audio quality adding static and stuff, it does add a nice hardware bass boost that sounds amazing.