Headphone Amp or Dap
Nov 17, 2015 at 8:34 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

NihavendLonga

New Head-Fier
hello everyone, I'm new to this hi-q music thing,and I have a question. Should I pick a headphone Amp for my akg Y50 or a low level dap like fiio x1? I listen flac files.(920 kbps-2500 kbps estm.) and 320 mp3 files
Please write your recommendations and my budget is between 100-200 dollars
Thanks,
PS:I have seen the fiio e6 but can it drive a 35 ohm headphone?
PPS: I am currently listening my songs from my Xperia e1

Nov 20, 2015 at 9:43 AM Post #2 of 10
Oblective2 is a good start IMHO. It sounds great and should be able to drive almost every headphone.

Nov 20, 2015 at 10:35 AM Post #3 of 10
If you get the Fiio X3II, you basically have a DAP and a DAC-HPamp for your computer. The X1 is really designed more for IEMs at a lower price, basically something to augment a smartphone (if it sucks, or for not using up its battery, or when you can't use data for Spotify) but with a lot of extra power so you can use a few other headphones as well. The X3 is the other way around - it has considerably more power for driving more headphones but digital volume control means you can use just a few button presses off zero without imbalance on IEMs (note the X1 uses digital volume control also, but still a bit lower gain so you have greater flexibility for very high sensitivity IEMs).

Nov 20, 2015 at 1:05 PM Post #4 of 10