Headphone advice for a newbie
Aug 10, 2004 at 6:00 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 15

Borky

Head-Fier
I've never had any headphones, but I need some for this coming year at college. My budget is about $250 and I will be using it with my Powerbook and HT receiver and airport express. I don't plan on getting a dedicated amp.

What would be the best headphones for this price?
What about at the $200 level?

Aug 10, 2004 at 7:17 AM Post #2 of 15
for unamped, a good general purpose headphone seems to be the AT A900. It works well unamped and sounds great for games. It is also closed so it won't bother your roommate, or he can't bother you. If you want a more genre-specific or preference-specific can, please list what you're looking for. bass heavy? soundstage? etc. etc.

Aug 10, 2004 at 11:09 AM Post #5 of 15
Whoa, I'm new to head-fi but not new to audio.
smily_headphones1.gif
How do the A900's compare to Grado 225/325's or Senn 580/600's?

Aug 10, 2004 at 12:18 PM Post #9 of 15
Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt_Carter
225s got some nice bass

agreed.

but imo i find it further obscures some detail from the already not-very-detailed 225 sound, making it sound to my ears quite muddy. my opinion seems to be one of the minority views here though - i can imagine many many people out there loving this 'phone to death. .
smily_headphones1.gif

edit: i should perhaps further qualify my post by stating that i prefer the sr325 sound to the sr225 sound (imo the sr225 is far too muddy and blurry, especially when compared to the sr325), but prefer the ms-2 sound to the sr325 sound (the ms-2 solves the sr325's imo single major flaw - its overexcitable treble).
wink.gif
smily_headphones1.gif

Aug 10, 2004 at 1:26 PM Post #10 of 15
Quote:

Originally Posted by Imyourzero
Whoa, I'm new to head-fi but not new to audio.
smily_headphones1.gif
How do the A900's compare to Grado 225/325's or Senn 580/600's?