Hazardous workplace advice
Jul 2, 2005 at 5:15 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

CMacDaddy

100+ Head-Fier
I'm not sure if I should complain to some of my bosses at work because of what I think is a dangerous work environment. I dont know anything about texas law regarding the situation, so I was hoping that someone on this board may have some experience or useful advice on the topic.

As to the situation...
I work in a restaurant, and every night before the servers are done with their work, the floor is cleaned. To clean the floor, the bus boys cover it in soap and water, making it very slippery. There are many sharp corners and a few hot objects that make falling very dangerous. The servers are required to continue work, which means walking, moving carts, and preparing food on top of this slick surface. Some days it is worse than others, but since I started working here at the beginning of june, I have fallen 2 times resulting in bumps and bruises, and numerous other coworkers have also fallen.

I did nothing the first 2 times I fell this year, but tonight the floor was wet and soapy for about 30 minutes while I was working in the area, so I told my manager that I was going to wait until after the floor was dryed before I finished my sidework. He informed me that I had to work on it anyway because I was supposed to be wearing "non-slip" shoes. My shoes were approved for work, and I have had no complaints in any uniform inspection because of them. They are cross training shoes with plenty of traction on them.

before this story goes on too long. I was wondering if there is a way I can file a formal complaint to have this situation stopped. I want it to be on record that I filed a complaint, so that if I or someone else falls again, some kind of legal action might be taken.

I suppose my real question is, should I file a written complaint with the managers, or is there some other kind of organization I should complain to?

Is there a way to complain anonymously?