Having trouble Foobar and EAC
Aug 25, 2013 at 10:43 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 14

Jtom94

100+ Head-Fier
I'm a total beginner and I don't have that much experience with each of the programs and I'm having a couple of issues with each of the programs. When I start Exact Audio Copy the songs on the CD are listed as track01...track12. How do I get the name of the song and other information about the cd in the program? What should be my next step be? Should I press the "wave"  button which says "copy tracks uncompressed" or the "CMP" button that says "copy tracks compressed"? After that how do I get the songs into foobar? Sorry if this is a dumb question but until now I've only used a regular standard cd player so this is all new to me.

Aug 25, 2013 at 10:51 PM Post #2 of 14
You have to set freedb up with your email address. EAC>metadata options.

The other depends on what kind of files you want. Most around here use FLAC, which is lossless compression. For this you would select CMP after it's set up for FLAC.

EAC>Compression options>External Compression.

You might want to rerun the setup. It goes through all of this.

You then have to point Foobar to where the files are.

File>preferences>Media Library

Aug 26, 2013 at 3:44 AM Post #5 of 14
Quote:

The other depends on what kind of files you want. Most around here use FLAC, which is lossless compression. For this you would select CMP after it's set up for FLAC.

I still can't manage to get the name of the song, artist and album name when I use EAC. I clicked EAC-> Metadata Options-> FreeDB. I entered my email address and clicked on the "Get active freedb server list" but nothing has happened. I don't know if I'm supposed to do something else in addition to that or change some other setting or what else I have to do. Is that all I have to do to get the metadata to appear when I rip a CD?