Have some basic questions for computer as source, help a head-fi Vet.
Oct 29, 2009 at 3:11 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 16

Gopher

Member of the Trade: LampizatOr Audio
Hey guys, some of you may recognize me though I don't post too often anymore, as my focus has been on speaker audio. I am very interested in ripping all of my CDs to a lossless compression and using a high end media center solution to feed my big rig.

To preface things: I am an analog man. I do the bulk of my listening with a pretty high end, but not ridiculous, turntable and low output mc cartridge. For perspective my cartridge retails for ~$4k.

I don't expect digital to equal it by any means, but I do want to convey that though I am new to the notion of using my computer as a source I am not new to high end sound.

I've generally ignored the Squeezebox/Airport Express revolution and have preferred to go the dedicated source route. I've used a Berendsen CDP-1 for the last few years which I bought (Tyson's recommendation) after preferring it greatly to the Meridian G08 I owned. But to be honest, it mostly sits idly while I listen to vinyl.

I have a lot of great music in digital format and am finally looking to get with the times. Doing some reading at audio asylum, it appears people have abandoned pretty high end CDPs in favor of the computer -> Dac or SB -> DAC and I'm wondering if this would be a good solution for me.

I see a lot of cheap USB and conventional dacs these days all promising high end sound but I'm curious as to the price point at which they actually begin to deliver.

I imagine using a computer with lossless music files can make a good transport, but I'm clueless as to where to begin.

My computer is not near my hifi, but I could always build another one cheaply if using a computer w/ sound card is the best way to go (would a Squeezebox be a better option?).