Harman Kardon Soundsticks III or Logitech Z623?
Dec 25, 2012 at 10:43 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 15

alexhutu

New Head-Fier
I'm looking for a good 2.1 speaker system for my iMac and I need to decide between the Harman Kardon Soundsticks III and the Logitech Z623. I can get the Soundsticks for $162 and the Z623s for $210.

I'd use them in a 20 square meters room and I need them to be powerful, so that two people couldn't hear each other talking.

Would I need any other accessories, such as amps? I'm not an expert in this field.

I also found a Logitech Bluetooth Adapter ($45) that works with any speaker system, would that take away from the sound quality?

If you know any other speakers that are better and under $220, let me know!

Thanks!

Feb 24, 2013 at 3:43 PM Post #3 of 15
M-Audio AV40's or Audioengine D2's will be better than both of those options in that price range. Since getting into powered monitors, I have vowed never to go back to computer, "multimedia" speakers.  

If you are thinking "but seekadds, your suggestions don't come with a sub," consider this: The "subs" in those 2.1-in-a-box systems are not really big enough to be classified as true subs anyway. i.e. They are typically 6", so they can't reach as low as a normal 8" or 10" subwoofer. 

Feb 25, 2013 at 4:22 AM Post #4 of 15
Quote:

I'd use them in a 20 square meters room and I need them to be powerful, so that two people couldn't hear each other talking.

---

If you know any other speakers that are better and under $220, let me know!