Greetings
Dec 9, 2008 at 7:38 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

jaysins

100+ Head-Fier
First post so let me introduce myself. I'm Jason, that was simple enough
wink.gif
. Well I've been lurking here for a bit and have learned so much and after reading this site. I've been researching new phones to get since my shure se310's got stolen. I'm a college student so I like to be as frivolous as possible though my love for electronics tends to foul that plan up.

My main dap right now is my N95 (soon to be N97 hopefully) and I plan on getting, or possibly making, an amp as my N95 and presumably N97 are underpowered. Most of my music is 320kbs though I do have some lackluster 128kbs songs in there so keep that in mind. My number one genre is probably alternative rock though I do listen to classical, rap and hip hop, hard rock and techno as well. I'm looking for something better than my shures as I wasn't totally satisfied with them. After reading I think I'm leaning towards the Klipsh X10's for around $200. I love bass though I wouldn't consider myself a bass head. I was thinking of maybe splurging and getting the W3's as I love to live beyond my means and work overtime, but don't think I would benefit from them as I usually use my phone as my main dap and some of my music is at a lower bitrate, though I do cherish my FLAC tracks.

Comfort is important as I have somewhat sensitive ears. Speaking of which I have almost annoyingly good hearing am quite sensitive to high frequency. I sometimes use high frequency sine waves as ringtones that as of yet none of my friends can hear. Though it does bother my ear a bit so I need something with pleasing highs that aren't too harsh but can can go really up there in range. I don't want to spend too much more than $200 for phones though I'm pretty easily parted from my money as that old saying goes
wink.gif