Grados + Xin SuperMacro 3 V6 = good?
May 6, 2006 at 12:52 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

Gnus

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 21, 2006
Posts
294
Likes
10
Hey guys, I'm a newbie to amps but I'm looking for a portable one to drive my SR-80s. I tried out the PAv2 and there was a noticeable improvement so I figure I spend the money now on a good one and that MAY cure any temptations to upgrade later on.

My budget is ~$300-$400 and I've been looking at the RA SR-71 and Xin SuperMacro 3, but I'm more interested in the SuperMacro because you can customize to some degree the sound of it.

I'm confused however about terms like "opa637", so could anyone clarify this for me? Perhaps I should just go with the SR-71 for it's simplicity...

I also intend this to be the only amp I buy so I can start saving up for RS-1s.
orphsmile.gif


HELP a newbie out!

BTW, any other amp recommendations for Grados would be appreciated as well.
 
May 6, 2006 at 12:56 PM Post #2 of 9

Chri5peed

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 16, 2005
Posts
3,611
Likes
12
'op amp rolling' is such a big deal to me, don't know why its not to other people.

I've got a bag of opamps, so for the cost of $0 and a few minutes I can virtually have a new amp.

'opa637 is just the model number of an opamp.
 
May 6, 2006 at 1:39 PM Post #3 of 9

Jerome G

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 12, 2006
Posts
243
Likes
10
Quote:

Originally Posted by Chri5peed
'op amp rolling' is such a big deal to me, don't know why its not to other people.

I've got a bag of opamps, so for the cost of $0 and a few minutes I can virtually have a new amp.

'opa637 is just the model number of an opamp.



Are opa227's good for Grado's ? how easy is it to change opa's ? thanks
 
May 6, 2006 at 2:28 PM Post #4 of 9

Chri5peed

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 16, 2005
Posts
3,611
Likes
12
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jerome G
Are opa227's good for Grado's ? how easy is it to change opa's ? thanks


227s weren't great with my HD 580s, made a laid-back sound even more laid-back, so with Grados being really forward...

Its really easy to swap opamps.
 
May 7, 2006 at 1:51 AM Post #6 of 9

Gnus

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 21, 2006
Posts
294
Likes
10
OK, so where would one go about obtaining these opamps?
And what does the SuperMacro come with?
Finally, which ones work best with Grados?
 
May 7, 2006 at 2:38 AM Post #7 of 9

mrarroyo

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Posts
19,073
Likes
29
Quote:

Originally Posted by Gnus
OK, so where would one go about obtaining these opamps?
And what does the SuperMacro come with?
Finally, which ones work best with Grados?



Currently it ships with OPA2134 and buffers. However you can purchase from Dr. Xin the AD8397 or the OPA637. Good luck.
 
May 7, 2006 at 2:47 AM Post #8 of 9

Gnus

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 21, 2006
Posts
294
Likes
10
Is it hard to change? Where could I find a walkthrough?
(sorry for all the questions
biggrin.gif
)
 
May 7, 2006 at 11:17 AM Post #9 of 9

Chri5peed

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 16, 2005
Posts
3,611
Likes
12
www.fixup.net

Is for all your Xin-amp needs!


If you're lucky some companies will sent free opamps out...they're only a few $s anyway.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top