Grado SR 60 vs. Koss Porta Pro?
Mar 6, 2002 at 8:10 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 15

youngjun

New Head-Fier
Are they even comparable? I've been loving my Sennheiser 580s for a couple of months now, but have found them a bit awkward and funny looking to carry around with my portable CD player as I walk to my office, and totally unuseable if I want to work out with them. So I'm thinking of getting a more portable and more efficient pair of phones. Problem is my wife gets mad at me for all the big purchases I've made lately. If price were not an object I'd get the Grados. But I'm wondering how the Porta Pros (for $23 shipped!) sound relative to the Grados ($60 shipped). I think I can get a $23 pair of phones through under the wife-radar.

Thanks for your help.

Mar 6, 2002 at 8:27 PM Post #2 of 15
i don't know about sound relativity but for the uses you describe grados really make no sense. They are not good portable phones. I love the way they sound but they are a bit uncomfortable, the cord is really annoying(as are the free rotating drivers), and they would slip off your head a whole lot faster than your senns if you tried to work out in them.
If you read around a bit you will find a million threads talking about the porta/sporta pros sound.

Mar 6, 2002 at 8:57 PM Post #3 of 15
Quote:

Originally posted by youngjun
Problem is my wife gets mad at me for all the big purchases I've made lately. I think I can get a $23 pair of phones through under the wife-radar

Just don't wear them in the kitchen and she won't know you have them
evil_smiley.gif

Mar 6, 2002 at 9:26 PM Post #4 of 15