Got to hear the Ultrasone Pro HFI-550 cans. Not impressed.
Jan 19, 2010 at 4:02 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 20

The Fire Snake

Head-Fier
I am very new to the whole high end headphone thing, so please take what I say with a grain of salt. I would love to expand my knowledge of what I like and what I don't but unfortunately almost nobody in the area I live in has headphones over $50. I called numerous audio shops and some were willing to order me high end cans, but none had them in stock and almost none allow you to listen to anything.

So the other day I went to an audio store and asked them if they had headphones and they had only a few. The highest end one they had were the Ultrasones HFI-550 Pro marked at ~$250. The clerk let me try them on and I was anxious to hear them. When I put on the headphones I found them to be fairly well made and I liked the fact that they came with a case. The other thing that I really like about them is that they really isolated well blocking out noise. But when he turned on the music I was like "this is it?" Ofcourse the source unit really sucked, it was a little portable discman with a CD. I turned the volume up to full and though the music was clear and undistorted, it was very underwhelming. Then I told him that they might need more power and thats when he plugged them into a amp/receiver that the store was using to play music through it's speakers. It was better obviously, but I came out of there very disappointed. My impression was, "No way are these worth $250". They were boring and nothing special at all. I was expecting to have my jaw drop, since the best headphone I ever listened to were my $20 philips closed headphones.

What do you guys think?

Jan 19, 2010 at 4:22 AM Post #2 of 20
Never heard them, but it depends on your tastes, and what you're looking for. Not all headphones have that "wow factor" that make people seem immediately impressed. It mighta still been the source as well.