Good DIY Books?
Sep 17, 2006 at 3:03 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

Xiode

100+ Head-Fier
To give you a brief background of myself - I'm a 16 year old high school student looking to get into DIY and possibly pursue a career in electronics. I have little to no experience with DIY or electronics at this point.

Does anyone know of any good books to get me going in the right direction? This would include both DIY books and general electronics books for a foundation.

I was possibly considering these:
Book 1
Book 2

Just general FYI, I'm not a big fan of eBooks although if anyone knows of any, I'd be more than willing to check them out.

Sep 17, 2006 at 3:32 AM Post #2 of 7
For general electronics, the "bible" is of course Art of Electronics (Hill & Horowitz). However if you're an electornic newbie, There Are No Electrons (Amdahl) seems to be widely recommended around here. It'll probably make for great reading for a HS student.

Go to Headwize and read all the articles on there. Go to Tangentsoft's electronics website and read everything on there. Then go make a few projects.

Once you're confident and want to move on to tube amplifiers, buy BOTH of Morgan Jones' books (Valve Amplifiers and Building Valve Amplifiers). Those books have a lot of practical advice form a very funny man.

Sep 17, 2006 at 11:21 PM Post #4 of 7
Quote:

Originally Posted by eVITAERC
electronics website and read everything on there. Then go make a few projects.

Once you're confident and want to move on to tube amplifiers, buy BOTH of Morgan Jones' books (Valve Amplifiers and Building Valve Amplifiers). Those books have a lot of practical advice form a very funny man.

if you're into valve amps, these books are highly recommended
smily_headphones1.gif

there's also a free book from RCA on tubes(very old book and seems its out of copyright). it's called "radiotron designer's handbook 14".

Sep 18, 2006 at 12:39 AM Post #5 of 7
Quote:

Originally Posted by jarthel