Good Audio Engineering schools in NJ?
Aug 12, 2011 at 7:26 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

RexAeterna

Headphoneus Supremus
hey,just wondering if anyone knows any? i'm trying to keep it as local as possible so if anyone knows any specifically around the Burlington County area that'll be awesome but if not i guess i can work with it as long as it's not like more 2-3 hours away. can't afford to be staying in any dorm rooms or anything and would prefer to be close to home cause it'll be much easier living situation(cheaper).

i have some experience from doing bed room recordings(producing everything from multiple electronic genres,to classical,to acoustic,ect. i'm pretty versatile when it comes to types of music). i also have tons other experience through the years with multiple jobs(electrical work,house improvements,carpeting,landscaping,painting,computer technician) but would like to get in what i love most. music. so been gonna try to get certified to do the job and try to shoot for masters(if i can) cause i ain't getting any younger.

also if anyone knows as well for possible qualified grants or loans i can probably take advantage of(for school of course) that'll be great. i was edgy at first about loans(cause i hate borrowing money. kinda a pride thing) but if i have no other choice i will take it if it's the only way. do they still even hand out loans for school?

Aug 13, 2011 at 2:18 AM Post #2 of 11
I highly recommend you avoid going to school and building up a huge debt for this kind of career.

The best thing you can do is call around local studios and become an apprentice. After about 10,000 - 15,000 hours of doing apprentice work, you will be able to either get hired at another studio, start your own studio or become a hired hand at that studio. A lot of people I know who are actually working in this field never went to school for it and they all started out as volunteers. Start calling and sell yourself.

Aug 13, 2011 at 4:49 PM Post #3 of 11