Getting the best sound out of your music?
Sep 19, 2007 at 4:39 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 29

Radagascar

New Head-Fier
I'm a novice when it comes to this audiophile business. I hear all these terms like lossless, and FLAC(or flak) and I'm pretty much clueless.

So what all do you need to consider to get the best sound out of your music, like the file type, bitrate, etc?

Sep 19, 2007 at 4:50 PM Post #2 of 29
You seem to be a true novice, so I suggest doing some reading on the topic rather than asking questions at a forum where pretty much everyone has fairly extensive knowledge on how to get great sound quality. People tend to just get really angry if you haven't done some research on your own before asking around.

Start checking out these pages.
http://mp3.radified.com/ <---Shows the basics of ripping and encoding.

http://flac.sourceforge.net/faq.html <---Tells you what FLAC is

Sep 19, 2007 at 4:54 PM Post #3 of 29
I'll try to explain, in simple words.
* MP3 (and AAC, MusePack, Ogg Vorbis, etc.) are lossy codecs. Meaning that they will throw away audio data on encoding. You will end up with a en encoded file that might to you ears sound the same as the original, but it is not "perfect".
* FLAC (and Apple Lossless, WavPack, TAK, etc.) are lossless codecs. Meaning that they will not throw away any audio data on encoding. You will end up with an encoded file that contain the exact same audio data, and sound the same (if not broken), as the source file.

An average lossless compressed file will have a bitrate of ~6-800Kbps, compared to the PCM (CD audio) bitrate of 1411Kbps. About half the file size for the exact same audio data and sound quality.
While lossy files usually are encoded to 128, 160 or 192Kbps.

Some nice reading:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lossy_data_compression
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lossless_data_compression
http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index....ess_comparison

Sep 19, 2007 at 5:18 PM Post #5 of 29
Quote: