Get ATH-M50x or wait for ATH-MSR7?
Jan 6, 2015 at 2:23 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

HiBrian

New Head-Fier
Hello Fellow Hi-Fiers,

This is my first post.  I’d like to begin by saying this forum/community has been a fabulous resource for researching headphones, and I want to sincerely thank y’all for your contributions, opinions, and advice.

That said, I am debating whether to get the ATH-M50X or to wait until the MSR7 comes out?  I have a preference for bass (I probably consider myself somewhat of a bass head?) and understand that sonically the M50x provides more bass than the MSR7.  However, the MSR7 looks absolutely gorgeous:)  I’ve read about the more natural (balanced) sound signature of the MSR7 and, would like to be more open-minded to other styles of sound signatures since I’m relatively new to the audio world.    

Background:
I’m certainly not an audiophile, but I believe I can appreciate good quality music – good sounding music to me has the ability to take you to another place and provides a sublime audio experience that transcends mundane, everyday life.  I like bass (but, also like a nice balance of mids and highs). My genres of music include Pop, Hip Hop/Rap, Dance, Alternative Rock, EDM, Dubstep, and some Country. I’m a casual listener who uses headphones mostly for studying in the library and using them at the gym (I don’t sweat very much so that’s not a concern).

My experience with headphones is somewhat limited:
Apple ear buds, Sony MDRE828 ear buds, and Beats Pro (please no Beats Bashers – it was a gift – he hee). 
Source: iPhone 6.

I’ve listen to the following Audio-Technica 911 Youtube video with my Beats Pro on an iPhone 6 and, I have to admit, it sounds awesome! Love the badass video too!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R-Kz12Ijanw

Anyways, I’m sure the above Youtube video would sound a lot better with some ATs (which I’m real excited about :p; hence, my debate whether I should get the M50x or the MSR7.