General orientation advice for digital camera
Jan 14, 2004 at 12:35 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 24

Pierre Lambion

100+ Head-Fier
Hi everyone,

I will finally get my first digital camera. My old very cheap and basic APS camera is almost not used but a second kid comming this spring is a good motivation!

I want to keep it cheap (around $300-$400) and I'm unsure about what kind of camera to go for:

A/ very slim 4megs with 3x zoom like a Canon Ixus or similar
B/ heavier 3 to 4 megs with a 6 to 10 zoom like some Minolta D-Image (I think)

I will probably still be the basic point and shooter for family pictures, but more features and more control is appealing.

My current non digital camera has no zoom. This is quite a limitation. I have no experience of zoom and of its usefulness. I 3x good enough. Is a 6x or 10x usefull if one does not use a support?

A smaller (3x zoom) cameras might get more usage ... being more frequently in the pocket rather than at home!

Also, what is the sturdiness of those cameras? I saw the small telescopic zoom of the Ixus and got the feeling the life expectancy might be low ...

Specific recommandations are welcome but I'm first interested in overall advice and considerationa bout the zoom usefulness.

Thanks in advance,
P.

Jan 14, 2004 at 1:04 PM Post #3 of 24
Quote:

Originally posted by Pierre Lambion
A smaller (3x zoom) cameras might get more usage ... being more frequently in the pocket rather than at home!

^^He^^ doesn't ship outside USA

You should get something you're going to use, a big factor. Optical zoom is the important one, 3x is better than none and digital zoom should be avoided for zooming IMO. What kind of memory they use is another factor and definitely get some decent rechargable batteries.

Jan 14, 2004 at 1:08 PM Post #4 of 24
Thx for the hint. I'm in Europe, so not much of a possibility to me. But I take notice of the accumulating cost of accessories.