For a not complete newb....
Jul 12, 2007 at 2:54 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

ZackP

500+ Head-Fier
I am building a cmoy, but, I want it to be the best cmoy you can make for under 150, and I also need to make a ety er4P->S cable, any suggestions on parts for each. A zune is my source, and I listen to metal of all kinds, and punk rock. I have basic soldering skills, and have had an electronics class before.
Thank you ahead of time

Jul 12, 2007 at 3:04 AM Post #2 of 12
If you've got such a large budget for a cmoy, you may want to consider building a somewhat better amp. In fact, I'm not really sure if you can make a CMOy that expensive, unless you go overboard with audio voodoo on the casing / jacks / resistors / capacitors / wiring / etc

I don't know what size you want the amp to be, but assuming an altoids-sized amp, given your basic soldering skills and the fact that you're using a pair of etys, you might want to try out an a47, which is designed for low impedance loads like IEMs. an er4p=>s cable kinda negates the benefit of this particular design, though.
Some other good amps in this price range (or at least better than the CMOY):
PPAS, but it's surface mount and probalby not suitable
PIEMTA, but so far it's only been designed on a pretty large board which isn't really portable IMO
PINT, but it's discontinued and surface mount

oh right, i almost forgot, there's a mini^3 amp being developed right now. I think boards for the amp will come out next month or so. I'd say that's your best choice. It's probably still going to come out under $150.

Jul 12, 2007 at 4:36 AM Post #6 of 12
just put two 75 ohm resistors inline, on L and R wire. you could even build it into the amp itself - that would save you the hassle of carrying the cable and the amp around. this would be no prob with a cmoy or a pimeta, dunno if you can fit it into a mini^3. just looked it up - it should work with some free-air wiring.