FLAC Portable Music Player
Jun 7, 2008 at 5:12 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 15

LordofDoom

100+ Head-Fier
Is there any portable music player that has a decent size memory (30-60GB++), plays FLAC audio, and isn't >$250? Otherwise is there any decent program/modification/etc for an iPod or other that would fit these needs?

Please help me out here, my last MP3/Portable Player was an iPod First Gen 5GB
smily_headphones1.gif

PS: Additionally, does anyone know of any cheap-ish (<$50) headphones that are pretty decent? I prefer over-the-ear, but in ear is okay.

Jun 7, 2008 at 5:51 PM Post #2 of 15
Get a 5.5 generation 80gig ipod and put rockbox on it.
That supports flac, and tons of other good SQ features.

Only thing I can think of that meets your requirements.
And sorry, I'm not good at headphones...

Jun 7, 2008 at 7:47 PM Post #3 of 15
If you like your first iPod why not get another with Rockbox?

By the way, why does it have to be FLAC? Can you really tell the difference? And also if you are not too particular about headphones, why are you so particular in codec?

Just my opinion, but I don't think it is a major difference between mp3 192 kbps and lossless. Now if you can tell the difference then by all means go ahead and listen to FLAC. If you can't tell the difference then just stick to ogg/mp3.

Jun 8, 2008 at 2:27 AM Post #5 of 15
I found out today that I can convert music to MP3 when sending it to my player, I might just do that. It would be in FLAC because that's what I listen to on my hard drive, earlier I figured it easier to keep it FLAC and find a player for it before I knew it would convert upon sync. I'll be looking around. Any good players besides an iPod for non-FLAC tunes?

Jun 8, 2008 at 2:27 AM Post #6 of 15
I'll second the iPod suggestion, 80GB Videos are quite reasonably priced refurb, esp. since you seem to like Rockbox.