First time poster/n00b, looking for a little advice - Galaxy S
Sep 7, 2013 at 1:15 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 4

DR650SE

500+ Head-Fier
Hello audiophiles,

I'll start with a brief intro.  I definitely enjoy good sounding music, though I'm still very new to the subject.  Clearly from my headphone/earphone choices in the past lol.  Currently in my stock is a pair of Bose QC3 headphones, Bose IE2 earphones, and a pair of Beats Studios.  Now before I go any further, in my defense, the Beats were given to me free.  The QC3 I've had since 2007, and the IE2 I use for working out and running.  In my opinion, I think they sound pretty good.  However I'm no audiophile.  Now I may not have the best hearing, but I'm not deaf lol.  Being in the military can take a toll on the hearing.

Anyhow, on to my questions.  For almost 3 years my primary phone has been the Samsung Galaxy S Captivate.  I recently obtained a Droid Razr free, and decided that I would uninstall everything and throw CM10.2 on my Captivate.  I basically turned it into a media device.  It has a very bare OS on it.  But during the course of my research, I found that it has the Wolfson WM8994 audio chip in it.  I understand that it is definitely a decent chip, and one of the better ones.  I downloaded and installed Voodoo Sound Plus, and Poweramp as my MP3 app.

My question is this, how do I get the best audio from this phone?  Do I need to get some sort of USB audio adapter? Or is using the standard phone headphone jack sufficient?  I'm looking to get the best audio experience from this little device.  It has a 3300mah extended battery, so it will be great on a long plane ride back home to the states.

Now on to my next task, deciding a budget and looking for headphones :D :p

Thanks for your help and time.

Sep 7, 2013 at 1:22 AM Post #2 of 4
Hello!

If you can give us your max budget and the genre of music you listen to, that will help a lot :) 

As for now, I'd say;
Sennheiser HD439
Ultimate Ears UE6000