First project - USB DAC and Amp
May 28, 2013 at 10:58 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 4

Sean8

New Head-Fier
Hey guys.

So I've been looking into getting a USB dac and amp for a while as most of my music is on my computer and I am not too interested in getting a high end sound card. I also study computer engineering at school (I'm an undergrad) and I'm really getting interested in building my own.

I'm not opposed to designing my own from scratch as I know I can probably do it with access to the right specs, but I really think I'd prefer a well-documented kit for my first one.

Does anyone know of any good kits? I'm looking to keep my cost between $50-$100. This is a learning experience for me after all and I know once I do one I'll want to keep going.

If designing my own is a good idea, I really like the look of Twister Pear Audio's Opus dac but my biggest issue with using that schematic was that it does not have a direct USB interface and the interface that Twister Pear has online is 16 bit, not 24. I don't really see the point of using a 32 bit DAC with only a 16 bit usb interface. And not only would I need help figuring out the best way to amplify the output from the opus.

Any ideas would be great.

Thanks,
Sean

May 29, 2013 at 1:15 AM Post #2 of 4
I was reading around and found this which leads me to believe that I don't actually need 24 bit audio as much as I assumed I would. So now, assuming I can use the USB interface from Twister Pear as well, how should I go about amplifying the output?

May 30, 2013 at 8:12 PM Post #3 of 4
I would recommend the grub dac for 16/48 audio. If you want to pay a little more the pup dac is a better move.

May 31, 2013 at 3:28 AM Post #4 of 4
opus dac needs case, power supply, and usb interface on top of the base kit. You will need to go noticeably over budget, one would expect.