First headphone purchase
Nov 3, 2014 at 6:35 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

OrcaFish

New Head-Fier
Hello Everyone,

This is my first time buying any sort of decent headphones for myself.  I own some older Sony MDR v300 model and was given the Bose QC2 a couple years ago.  I really want to step up the quality and do not need noise cancellation.  I have been reading a lot and obviously the ATH-M50x is a stand out with its popularity but I have been looking into the Ultrasone HFI-580 and the Beyerdynamic Custom Pro One's as some people have said they are on par and have more bass than the M50x. I am open to any over ear model however as i am so new.

I listen to a wide mix
-Led Zeppelin
-Disclosure
-Skream
-Crystal Castles
-Enter Shikari
-Barenaked ladies
-Blink 182
-random hip hop like Juicy J
-Debussy
-Whitechapel
-anything really

I would say I listen to primarily electronic recently but I listen to enough Indie/Hipster bands that are sometimes only acoustic that I need something balanced but when a song is supposed to have big bass I gotta have that sub bass, boom, kick excited feeling cause I would say I lean towards being a a basshead.

My price range is around $150-200 but cheaper is not out of the question
I will not be using an amp anytime soon just through my iphone and computer which has some Dell Maxx Audio 4 software on it
closed back is a must
It will be primarily for home but I will travel on occasion with them
my source is usually the 326kbs or w/e from spotify premium, although i have been looking to acquire FLAC audio files in the future

if you guys could help me out with anything it would be much appreciated, I am looking to purchase before my flight home for the holiday season thanks so much and happy
smily_headphones1.gif

Nov 3, 2014 at 11:21 PM Post #5 of 11
Hmmm I have the m50 and they fit your needs they are fairly flat but have a good bump in the bass