First DAC project
Dec 15, 2008 at 3:33 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

dude_500

100+ Head-Fier
I'd like to build an external DAC for my computer, I've never done one though and there are quite a few designs online. I'd like to keep it to the $100-150 price range at the max, and have it sound absolutely as best as possible. An amp is not needed in the circuit because I have built a strain tube amp.

Any suggestions here?

Oh and I have no experience with surface-level mounting or etching, but I'm not sure it's at all possible to avoid these two things. Optimally I'd like to use socket chips and do it on a generic project PCB. Can this be done?

Dec 15, 2008 at 6:09 AM Post #2 of 12
At about $25 in parts, the Bantam DAC seems like an affordable way to try out surface-mount work and it sounds just great.

Take your time, check your part orientation twice or thrice before soldering, get the right tools (good tweasers, magnifier, decent soldering iron -- nothing extravagant, just adequate) and use lots of liquid flux. There are plenty of other threads on this topic with pointers to good tutorials.

I'd never soldered surface-mount parts before my first Alien a few months ago, and while it was a mess, the parts turned out to be remarkably resilient. My more recent builds area a good deal tidier. But all have worked.

BantamDAC

The new Gamma-1 DAC is in your price range and the SMD work is probably a bit easier, but at over $100 in parts I'd recommend practicing on a Bantam first.

Good luck!

Dec 16, 2008 at 5:52 AM Post #3 of 12
Two questions...

1. If I were to go with the Gamma-1, which seems to be around $150 in parts, how would that compare to a pre-made non diy $200-250 DAC?

2. I assume I'd want to use SPDIF out of my pc if possible. My onboard has SPDIF, but does the sound card quality no longer matter because it's a digital signal, or would I still want to get an audigy or some higher end board just to drive the SPDIF?

Dec 16, 2008 at 6:49 AM Post #4 of 12