First amp?
Dec 15, 2009 at 2:41 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 5

HeroicPenguin

500+ Head-Fier
Hi guys. I'm new to this forum, but I've been lurking for a bit.

I have a question about amps. Right now, my headphones are the Denon D1001 and UE Super.Fi 3. I know that probably neither of these need a dedicated headphone amp, but I'm wondering if they would sound better with an amp. Currently, they sound fine unamped (through the computer and iPod), but I'm wondering if I should spend money on an amp of some kind. However, I have a few conditions.

1. As a first-year college student, I probably won't be able to buy another amp for about 3 or 4 years, so if I buy an amp now, it should last.
2. I might upgrade or buy new headphones in a year or two, so the amp would have to work with an upgrade too.
3. I really don't want to spend more than $50-60 on an amp and really don't have the time to try to build my own amp (rules building a CMoy out of the equation).

So, my first question is: Should I buy an amp? The second one is: If yes, then which one? I've been looking at the Fiio E1 and E5, a couple of different CMoys, and the PA2V2, but I'll consider others.

Also, if I do get an amp, should I get a cheap LOD and would that make a noticeable different over just a simple mini-to-mini cable?

Thanks.

Dec 15, 2009 at 3:48 AM Post #2 of 5
Are you using an iPod? I'm assuming so since you mentioned LODs and the E1. If you're only going to use it with an iPod, the E1 might be a good option. If you want to use it with a non-iPod later on, the E5 or a cmoy might be a good option. Honestly, unless you can come up with a good reason why you should buy an amp (get rid of the SF3 hiss, better volume control, a volume boost), you'd be better off saving your money for better headphones. On the other hand, if it's only $20 or $30, you might want to just go for it. Just eat more Ramen noodles and go without beer for a week or two.
icon10.gif