FiiO E11 vs FiiO E17
Sep 8, 2013 at 12:47 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 24

izzyisback72

New Head-Fier
Hello there,

I have few questions beside FiiO E11 and FiiO E17.
confused_face(1).gif

How they perform in term of bass(which one is better)?
And the quality of the sound(which one is better)?

Thanks!

Sep 8, 2013 at 12:57 PM Post #2 of 24
  Hello there,

confused_face(1).gif

Thanks!

The E11 is an amplifier while the E17 is DAC/Amp. Will you be using only the amp section of the E17? 

Sep 8, 2013 at 1:05 PM Post #3 of 24
  Hello there,

confused_face(1).gif

Thanks!

Technically the E11 is a very slightly better headphone amplifier, but I doubt you could hear a difference.
I would think with all the features of the E17, the E17 would be preferred.

Sep 8, 2013 at 1:47 PM Post #6 of 24
  Hello there,

Sorry if I ask but I'm new in audio things,what is DAC ?

A DAC is a digital-to-analog converter. In other words, you plug it in your computer and bypass your computer's internal sound card (which usually sounds bad) and get better sound quality. With some DACs, you can also plug them into your phone with the right cable. 

An amplifier, on the other hand, does not change the sound. It only amplifies the signal so you could get more volume with higher impedance headphones. May i ask what headphones you will be using? 

Sep 8, 2013 at 1:52 PM Post #7 of 24
  Hello there,

Sorry if I ask but I'm new in audio things,what is DAC ?

DAC - Digital to Analog Converter.
Modern audio is stored and processed in digital (zero & ones), but the audio needs to be changed to an Analog Audio Signal, before it goes to an amplifier (and to the human ear).
Lots of mass market audio gear (mp3 players & cell phones, etc) come with low costing DAC chips.
The E17's DAC chip (WM8740) would be considered better then what comes in most portable audio players, cell phones, computers and laptops.