Fighting DIY burnout?
Aug 14, 2006 at 7:27 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 25

creyc

500+ Head-Fier
No. Surprisingly this thread has nothing to do with "burnouts" in the electrical sense!
wink.gif

I've been working on some large power amplifiers now for several months. I went away on a completely technology-free vacation for a month and am returning to the hectic digital world now with a bit of reluctance. I see my piles of components and spreadsheets of parts left to accrue and I really am burnt out on the whole project.

I have a considerable investment into this project, both monetarily and my time and I've not even fired up the new Hako soldering station I purchased just for this project. I'm not in a mood to let $2000 in parts go to waste but I need some sort of motivation.
frown.gif

Anyone else face project-based burnout or just lose steam midway through a large build? Any tips for keeping the faith would be appreciated.

Idk anymore.....

Aug 14, 2006 at 7:34 AM Post #2 of 25
yeah i know how you feel. i just don't feel like building stuff anymore.

Aug 14, 2006 at 7:51 AM Post #4 of 25
Currently I don't feel like finding parts and building BOM's for hours on end... and the painful measurements for casing!

EDIT:
BTW, what are we doing up on Head-fi at 2am?! I guess we still have it.

Aug 14, 2006 at 9:00 AM Post #5 of 25
yes...I suppose there's a little bit of the fire still going, as it IS 2 AM. lol

I'm building 2 stereo Super Leach amps.

Plitron 1500VA torroids, OnSemi ThermalTrak transistors, 60,000uF in supplies, all blackgate caps on the board, 1% tolerance resistors, professionally-built-custom-designed case, cardas gold plated RCA jacks and output terminals.

Right now I'm stuck on VU meters and case design. I'm debating between a nice traditional meter or perhaps something digital. I don't like the LED VU meters as I find them distracting and "jumpy" but perhaps an LCD solution would be good middle ground.