Feel the current?
Dec 6, 2012 at 8:34 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

btankey

New Head-Fier
Don't know if this is a dumb question (since I'm fairly new to head-fi, etc) but I have a receiver (Sherwood S-9200CP from 1981) that I use to occasionally drive my headphones (HE400 and K550), using the Audioengine D1 as a DAC/preamp, and sometimes feel like there's too much current... i.e. it seems like I can feel the current, and it becomes fatiguing pretty fast at (what seems to me) similar volume levels than listening straight from my D1.  I'm guessing the receiver puts out a lot more juice than my D1 (and makes the bass more dynamic), and am wondering if anyone has experience with this? Could I be actually feeling the increased current?  Is it more likely I'm listening to a higher volume than I realize?  Could this be doing damage to me or to the headphones?  Thanks in advance

Dec 6, 2012 at 9:22 PM Post #3 of 6
Just a guess, but there may be a couple of carbon resistors on the headphone output.  That probably gives the sensation of "wooly" power because of inherent, but variable, distortion that exists in a typical carbon resistor.

Maybe that explains what you're experiencing.  I doubt seriously you're experiencing anything that could be damaging personally, but distortion can burn out drivers/cause fatigue much faster than otherwise, I think.