ExpressPCB question...
post-197015
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 3

Doh

Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 24, 2001
Messages
60
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jun 24, 2001
Posts
60
Likes
0
Can you do ground planes in ExpressPCB? Is it ok just to set a bunch of traces too close together to get the desired effect?

Also, is it ok to run a power ground trace under a signal trace for long lengths?

I'm putting together a board to do relay switching for my Gilmore Preamp. Thanks!

-Doh
 
     Share This Post       
post-197162
Post #2 of 3

tangent

Top Mall-Fi poster. The T in META42.
Formerly with Tangentsoft Parts Store
Joined
Sep 27, 2001
Messages
5,969
Reaction score
55
Joined
Sep 27, 2001
Posts
5,969
Likes
55
No, ExpressPCB doesn't do ground planes, per se. I mean, a proper CAD tool allowing ground planes would be able to intelligently cut through the plane when necessary. You can mimic the effect by hand with ExpressPCB, but it's a lot of work.

Instead of using traces for this, look into the rectangle tool. That will probably do a better job for what you're looking to do.
 
     Share This Post       
post-197569
Post #3 of 3

mlloyd1

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 23, 2001
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jul 23, 2001
Posts
12
Likes
0
The approach Tangent mentions actually works fairly well
I used it for a PCB Express board I did a while back. Not too painful depending on your board complexity.

mlloyd1

Quote:

Originally posted by tangent
.... You can mimic the effect by hand with ExpressPCB, but it's a lot of work.


 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top