Etys for gaming and other n00b questions
Apr 27, 2003 at 5:30 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

xbkingx

New Head-Fier
Hey kids,

For some crazy reason, I decided I wanted to replace my now peeling and never great sounding Sony MDR-V400s, and that lead down this slippery slope into the underground world of headphone hi-fi insanity. I'm still a newbie, so here's my one alotted newbie question: if I have no problem with the volume output by a device, why do I need an amp?

Okay, that out of the way let me know what you think of the following:
I would like phones (at max 2 different) that that I can do the following in: lie in bed and listen to MP3CD player, jog outside in the city, play PC games, and wireless would be a big plus.
I'm thinking a pair of Ety 4s and the soon to be released Pioneer DIR1000 (or XB1 since their essentially the same).

I'm afraid the Etys might block out too much sound and not be a good idea for city jogging in, but I'm not exactly downtown. I just need to be aware, not on guard. I'm used to having the volume too high to hear much anyway, and I can't stand non-bud phones for exercise. Right now I have the Sony h.ear or whatever they are that are single clips and quasi-buds. Work great, sound like crap.

I have Klipsche ProMedia 5.1 speakers on my comp and use the cans for late night gaming mostly. But I lose the surround feel, which really sucks for some games (one that comes to mind is an online mutiplayer game that has players who can cloak and the only clear indication of their presence is the distinct sound it makes. Good sound localization is key to killing em). My keyboard and mouse are wireless, and the headphone cord is obnoxiously annoying. This is the main use for the Pioneers.

Well, what do you guys think? Anything you would do differently? There was another earbud that was supposed to be great, can't think of the name, but they were at CES. How do they compare to the Etys?

Thanks uber-much.
Brandon