EMU 0404 vs Fubar 3 (or DAC vs DAC-AMP)
Jul 17, 2007 at 4:05 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

reorx

100+ Head-Fier
Greetings,

I am totally new to the world of pc-based audiophilia, and after finally being more or less satisfied with my portable rig, I am now turning my sights (and wallet) on my home rig. I really have no choice but to use my pc as my main source, as i spend 85% of my home-time in front of it.

After having read countless threads on DACS, amps, soundcard-to-amp, etc. discussions, I am finally ready to make my choice. I have already decided that the DT880 will be my home can (thats half the battle there), but now I need to find the proper source to drive it with.

Not living in the western hemisphere, my choices are unfortunately not as fertile as most here. Basically, I'm settling on two choices: the emu 0404 or the firestone fubar 3. (Either one costs around US$ 200, which is about the limit of my current budget)

Now, im not that familiar with all the terms yet, but i understand that the emu 0404 is a VERY good DAC, while the fubar 3 is a DAC-headphone amp combo (the fubar II dac + batterycute amp). What will be more advisable when all i want is to enjoy my DT880's?

Will the emu0404 sufficently drive the dt880s, or will i need to find a headphone amp in addition to it? Is the Fubar 3 good enough, or should i stick to the very well reviewed emu 0404, and some other external amp? (i welcome recommendations)

Hope you guys can shed some light on my queries, and maybe give some alternatives. I just want to get the most out of my flac files, and the DT880s.

Thanks guys. Im sorry for my wallet already.

Jul 17, 2007 at 6:20 PM Post #2 of 12
The E-MU 404 USB can drive my Sennheiser headphones, which have a high impedence similar to the DT880, so you can likely use that combo without a seperate amp. Yet I do like the sound better using an external amp - if you go with the 404, this would be a good future upgrade.