Eee PC...
Apr 12, 2008 at 11:10 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 85

eightbitpotion

500+ Head-Fier
So I'm thinking about getting a new toy. I work as a mechanic at a bowling alley, and I have pretty much nothing but downtime, so I'm looking for a good media toy. I thought about getting an archos because they can play divx and whatnot out of the box, but then I started thinking about an eee pc. I've found 16gb sdhc cards for a mere 50 dollars, so the hdd isn't an issue, and I already type on a micro keyboard on my desktop (don't ask...).

Does anyone own a Eee PC? The only thing that has me iffy is of course the very very tiny screen... I will ONLY be using it to watch divx videos, playing snes roms, and of course chatting and email- does it sound like it'll do the job okay? I would just get a normal lappy, but this thing would almost fit in my pocket, and I can use a 3G usb for wireless web anywhere I go.

Apr 12, 2008 at 9:33 PM Post #3 of 85
I have one. It's nifty. Very cool, and pulls chicks. It's cool for intertubes, documents, etc. Plays videos fine. Light. Cheap. Just big enough for my big hands to type on. I installed Ubuntu 7.10, which is a bit unstable when it comes to restarting and suspending, but is still worth it. Way better than a smart phone. I just keep everything on an SD card.

Apr 13, 2008 at 12:08 AM Post #4 of 85
I've had one since they were released in NA, and honestly I've got nothing but praise for it. I'm using the "advanced desktop" for the default xandros distro, and even that does the job great. Honestly I can't recommend it highly enough.

Apr 13, 2008 at 4:46 AM Post #5 of 85
One eee user here too, works just fine, thou no chance of running photoshop, but thats what bigger machines are for.. Divx plays fine from SD-cards, snes works, I've also tried openarena, which worked great. It sounds pretty good with Pico too. Anyway, I use mine mainly for email, web and skype, and thats where it shines.