Ear+Purist and tube rolling
Sep 25, 2005 at 9:23 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

tuatara

500+ Head-Fier
Just had my Ear+ Purist HD100 a couple of days and at the moment I'm running a 12AT7 instead of the normal 5751 as Lloyd was out of stock.
There are a couple on the way to me know. However as I plan to keep this amp until hell freezes over or my ears fall off I'd like to get a few different tubes now for tube rolling and future stock.
Is it worth going for some of the higher priced NOS tubes(been looking at an Amperex Bugleboy 12AX7) or am I just as well sticking with some of the better new offerings like the 12AX7LPS-Sovtek or 5751 EH Gold-Electro Harmonix.
I'm new to all this so any help from Ear + users who have tried various tubes would be much appreciated.

Sep 25, 2005 at 1:30 PM Post #3 of 8
Although the 5751 has 70% of the gain of a 12AX7 (and it variants) it is a cleaner sounding tube. It is less microphonic and at the end of the day you will be happier with the 5751.

People are paying a lot of money for 12AX7's and for this application I do not see the need (if you wanted grunge on a guitar amp yes).

By the way enjoy your amp I got mine about a week ago. Post a picture, here is one my setup.

http://xs.to/xs.php?f=EarPuristandRS...h=xs47&d=05382

Sep 25, 2005 at 4:00 PM Post #4 of 8
Tuatara,

Congrats on your Ear+. My Purist HD is now passing the 250 hour burn-in mark (playing it a lot..) and it's sounding simply incredible. Transparent, dynamic, organic, and pairs perfectly with my PS-1s.